Hiking becomes a habit

IMG_9967For me hiking became a habit while study abroad here at SUU. They call SUU the university with the national parks in the backyard, and that is one thing for sure. If you are an active person, I think you would really like SUU. But that’s not what this blog is about.  This blog is about my hiking adventures.

I already talked about a few hikes I did while my study abroad here at SUU. One of my favorites was the snowshoe hike in Bryce Canyon (checked that one of my bucket list), but I already wrote one blog about that one. For a quick overview I show you the hikes I did below:

  • Bryce Canyon
  • Antelope Canyon
  • Valley of Fire State Park (different hikes)
  • Did a lot of walking in general here in the USA
  • Kanarraville falls

About the last one, I am going to tell you something, because I already talked about the others in other blogs, and this one is one you cannot miss while you are here in Utah.

Kanarraville falls is only a 20 minutes’ drive from Cedar City and it is a hike of 3 hours. So if you don’t have a lot of time, but you still want to do a hike, I recommend this one. But be prepared…
Kanarraville falls is known with the picture with the waterfall and the stairs you have to climb, maybe you’ve seen the picture before. Well I did that climb and I am proud of it, because it is kind of scary, because the stairs are a little slippery.
But what I mean with be prepared; you are going to walk through water a lot! When I started the hike, I was like ooh I think it is not going to be that much water, but it was and it was freeeezing! They had a sign when you start the hike; “most common injuries are broken legs and ankles”, well that is a nice sign to start a hike (not).  IMG_9969
So with that in the back of my mind we started the hike. First you have to walk a while before you have the first piece of water you have to walk through. And because you think oh no this is going to be really cold, it is going the be really cold! You think the coldest part is walking in the water, but no. The coldest part is walking outside the water, and that is not a nice feeling. But I think the “nice” sign at the front of the hike was true. Because you are walking through water a lot, you cannot feel your feet/ankles anymore at one time and besides that, you cannot see how the rocks are under the water, so you have to be really careful. Luckily I did not break anything and my other friends didn’t break anything, so that was a big relief.
Beside that you couldn’t feel your feet/ankles anymore and walking outside the water was painful, it was worth it.

But if you are going to do this hike; where shoes that are strong and can take water, bring dry clothes with you, especially dry socks and shoes and water for during the hike. And most of all enjoy the surrounding and the waterfalls.

See ya!

Leave a Reply

